Our Cluster

The name Te Whiri Kōkō is a name unique to this region and refers to the flight of a large flock of birds and implies forward movement and direction. The name is embedded in local Māori history.

The word whiri has connotations of linking or uniting and symbolises all the RTLB in this cluster flying together, united. Kia whiri, kia kotahi ai (we are woven together as one). Kōkō is the sound of the birds.

Our whakataukī is "Mā te huruhuru, ka rere te manu" with feathers, a bird can fly. It relates to the significance of birds in our name and to the core belief that by working together collaboratively, with integrity we can build capacity and create an environment that helps students reach their potential. Our service helps the birds (students) to fly.

The logo design is made up of nine green triangles. These represent the original nine RTLB Clusters that have merged to make up Cluster 26 after the 2012 national transformation of RTLB clusters. Te Whiri Kōkō is one of the largest clusters in number in the country with 42 FTTE RTLB, one Cluster Manager, and 112 schools.

Te Whiri Kōkō covers a wide geographical area from the East to the West Coast of the lower North Island with the Manawatū Gorge cutting through the two main mountain ranges: Ruahine and Tararua. Due to the wide geographical area we cover, we run two teams: Northern/Te Tai Tokerau (covering the areas of Palmerston North and Tararua) and Southern/Te Tai Tonga (covering the areas of Horowhenua, Ōtaki and Kāpiti).